March 8, 2012

  • Rainy Day in Austria

    Or “Tag Regen ein Österreich.” At least I think so. Well, I know it’s raining. And I think Regen is rain. And Tag is day. And Osterrieich is Austria.

    Oh, wow. What to do. It’s one of those days when everyone is rolling their eyes into their heads and all, where I obsessively check FB to see if anyone is alive, where I write long and rambling messages to friends, do all the laundry I can find, and manufacture reasons to write Xanga entries.  We were supposed to go to a museum today, Ars Electronica, but the rain and the threat of more rain made us postpone our trip until tomorrow, which is supposed to be sunny. And since we walk there, and we have to cross the Danube, I thought it would be wiser to wait.

    However, we were low on milk. (We are ALWAYS low on milk, it seems. Silly quart-sized bottles) And James told me of a grocery which he thought was closer and a bakery. So, R and I braved the rain and headed out. The grocery was expensive and a bit sketchy. We went to the bakery where I bought donuts (which in German is “donuts”) and sent them home with Rachel. I headed to our grocery store and bought four bottles of milk, microwave popcorn, and some special treats for the kids, and headed home. I decided to stop and buy myself a treat. FRIES! Okay, fat fries.

     And since I had groceries and was all by myself, I did something I’ve not done since I’ve been here. I rode the elevator up to the seventh floor instead of taking the steps. Elevators here are tiny and odd.

     

    Once the elevator door opens, you have to open the outside door to get in. I’ve not tried to open the outside door to see if you could just randomly plunge to your death in the elevator shaft.   We have a slow elevator. I know this because I can walk to the sixth floor in the time it takes the elevator to leave the first floor and get to the seventh floor.

     

    But do you know what made me really happy today? I GOT A LETTER IN THE MAIL!!! I was so happy, I literally danced by the mailboxes! Linda gets first letter! (Not surprising, as we have been writing each other for 20 years… even though neither of us is that old, right, Linda?)

    Feel free to make me (or any of the other members of the family) equally happy. Just write a note or stick a church bulletin, random news clippings, leftover homeschool worksheets, or whatever in an envelope and mail it to me! I put a name sticker on our mailbox, so just addressing it to Sellers should be okay. (Shameless plug again by posting my address even though it is clearly written on the envelope!)

    Sellers

    Lessingstrasse 11

    Linz 4020   Austria

    (Ooh! So excited! While writing this post, got a FB message from Abby B asking for my address!)

Comments (4)

  • Okay. I just had an inspiration. Being as we are BEST ONLINE FRIENDS….I feel it my duty to entertain you during your long, “regen tag” in Austria. So, I will put together a “THINGS YOU DONT KNOW OR NORMALLY EXPERIENCE WITH SPAZZY” blog post….a glimpse into the “BEHIND THE SPAZZ” kind of entry. :D You know, the totally random, non-important things about peoples lives that make them seem to be more interesting than they really are……. LOL. :)

    I shall be back.
    You shall be entertained.

    I will be like the Cat in the Hat that shows up with craziness on a rainy day. :)

  • Hi Mary!  David and I spent the last hour reading all your posts.  Woo hoo!  That was a good time.  Write more and we can do this for a date again next Friday night!  When I saw my letter, a great ‘yes!!’ of jubilation came from deep inside.  She got it!  She danced!  I better sign up to get these posts with my “new” e-mail address.  It’s been a long time since I read a Mary Xanga post.  Well done.  You have a great career in journalism ahead of you.  Or when Rick Steves dies you could do all his shows! Linda

  • @LindaUlmer43 -  Hee hee. Today, Linda, I wanted you at the museum with me. So many cool Catholic things!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *