March 27, 2012

  • The Sick One Asks for Prayers

    I am taking a break from the scenery of Austria to whine a little bit and ask for prayer. I am sick. I’ve got some sort of something. I have not been feeling well for over a week, but it’s getting worse.  I have a sore throat, headache, and achy neck. I get dizzy, and sometimes I cough. When I do cough, it doesn’t seem like much of a cough, but I fear my lungs is where the source of my problem lies.  Also, I am not sleeping well.

    I don’t know what’s up with me and sleeping. I’m off caffeine; I’m not napping, I’ll be good and tired, go to bed late, and then I’ll lie awake for hours. I’ll doze off and then wake almost on the hour, every hour, to lie there staring at the ceiling. It’s annoying.

    Last night was my worst night for sleeplessness. I woke with a terrible headache and a chest that killed me when I would swallow. (I drank water anyhow!) I wound up dozing on the couch sitting up which was the most comfy I could get. Today, I got up and did Bible time with the kids, put in a load of laundry, and grateful collapsed back on the bed in a dizzy heap.

    Those of you who know me well know that I don’t mind being sick. I even like it. But we leave for a 4-day trip to Berlin Wednesday morning (8 hours on the train each way). Today, I have to pack and get ready.  I would prefer not to be any sicker. If I have to be sick like this, okay, so be it. I’ll push through, Lord willing. But if I start running a fever (rare for me) or other odd things, then I’ll have to find a doctor–in Germany.  I went to the pharmacy here in Linz and got some sort of lung decongestant and sore throat helper. 

    So, I would ask for prayer that I don’t get sicker, that maybe I even get better, that we have a lovely time as a family on our trip, and that I’m not contagious! Thank you, my friends. 

     

Comments (3)

  • Booooooo. Boooooooooo!!! Booooo!!!! :(

    Prayers. I hope you get BETTER…not just not be sicker. <—- totally lame sentence, but it makes sense. Right?

    REST is the #1 best medicine…and because laughter “worketh like a medicine”—while you’re resting go to Pinterest and look up sarcastic funnies. I get quite a kick from those!! :)

    REST, REST, REST. Berlin will be awesome. I can’t wait to hear all about it. ;)

  • I’m so sorry you’ve been sick on your trip. It sounds like you need a good, old-fashioned mustard plaster– or onions. Now, I have absolutely no idea how to do one, but my grandmother used to swear by them. Praying for you!

    Yes, BobsFanClub still exists, she’s just to busy to be on xanga most of the time.

  • Oh dear! I hope you are feeling better–or that you can find a doctor soon!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *