March 25, 2012

  • The Salzburg Cathedral

    We have been in lots of pretty churches. No, GORGEOUS churches, both here in Austria and also in England. But I think the Salzburg Cathedral might just have been the prettiest of them all.  (This is not my picture, but it shows the whole church, which none of my pictures did.)

    There were three archways, as you can see. Each one had a date in gold over top it which corresponded to a year that the Cathedral had an addition. The first date was 774, the year it was built. You can also see the statues. They were of saints or archbishops. Now I can’t remember, and a Google search is coming up short. I guess you will live if you don’t know if it was John the Baptist or Archbishop Colorado in a statue. 

     

         

    No, you can’t really tell from the pictures how lovely it was. Nor can you tell from the pictures how ridiculously COLD it was inside. BRR! I guess all that marble retains the cold? You’d need a portable space heater or a ski suit to make it through the service!

    As in all the Catholic churches we saw, there was a huge, main altar in the front, and down the length of each side, there were other altars. There was a huge organ on the second level opposite the main altar (so if you were the organist, you could have dropped water balloons on the people who were coming in the front door to church).

     

     

     

             

     

    On the back wall, just as you walk out, there was this picture.

     

    It reminded me of two cell phones, so I had to laugh. 

    In the basement of this church, they had some excavations and a weird shadow puppet show of the Angel of Death. I didn’t take pictures of it because it’s difficult to take pictures in the dark of a shadow show.  

    Even though this church is beautiful, I’m still glad to call Faith Baptist Church my church.

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *