February 27, 2012

  • Join Us for Breakfast?

    Despite the fact it sounded like someone was using a power drill intermittently all night long, we slept well enough. I slept well enough, I should say. Everyone else was up for a hour or two and got online. I’d wake up, say “Dang, it’s hot in this room,” kick off my blanket, and sleep again. Then I’d wake up and say, “Where’s my cuddly blanket?”, cover up, and repeat the process. I don’t know if this is all of Austria, but we have a firm, foam mattress with a sheet on it and a duvet covered in a white sheet fabric, and that is it for bed linens. 

     

    We set our alarm for 9:30 and went down the stairs to breakfast.

     

    What a way to be welcomed!  Neon!

     

    The waitress/hostess was in black with a white apron. She asked me in German if I wanted coffee, tea, or something else which I didn’t understand. Tea sounds like “tea,” so I was all good. The rest of the family soon joined me, and we had a lovely breakfast. I was all excited to try my first soft-boiled egg, but by the time I got to the breakfast bar, they were not quite soft nor hard boiled from sitting in the warming tray. This was my breakfast. I always want to try new things. (Two different granola blends and the brown bread, which turned out only to be wheat bread.)

     

    The food was fairly ordinary with a bit of an international flair: meat and cheese, different breads. There was plain, white sandwich bread for toast and cornflakes. So it felt rather like home to Michael.  He was happy to be able to order something in German. (Could I have a little coffee, please?)

    Now, we are back in the room. James starts his orientation meetings for the Fullbright this afternoon. The kids and I plan to wander the streets of Vienna. Our goals? Take photos and buy baby powder.  Set the bar low, eh?  Apparently, we are only a block or two from the Parliament buildings here in Vienna. Some of us would rather just spend the day dozing (me included), but I think it is better to stay awake.

Comments (1)

  • Yep, that is it for linens in Germany and Austria. It makes making the bed super fast. And they fold the duvet sideways in 1/2. It takes all of about 2 seconds! :)

    Did they not have any quark and Nutella to go with the bread? And no yogurt to go with the muesli?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *