May 7, 2011

  • EPCOTting It

    Although it would be easy to say, “Hey, it’s been a month since you went to Disney. Give it up, woman. You aren’t going to get your blogging done,” I am going to keep pressing on to tell the tale of The Grand Adventure! And this entry, I hope not to be as dull as the last time. But, about that last entry, how exciting can a topiary of Rabbit be?

    Like I mentioned in the previous entry, we decided to go to EPCOT for our second day. We boarded our bus…

    And headed out to the park. We ate breakfast at EPCOT, some sort of turkey sandwich thing with a side of potatoes. It was pretty good. Then we got into the business of going on the rides. Mom’s favorite ride at EPCOT is Soarin’. When she would speak of this ride, I always thought she was saying “Soren,” and I pictured a fantasy dragon/battle ride.  But, it is actually one of those videos where you feel like you are hang-gliding over California. They even make it smell like oranges when you fly over the orange groves! I was a bit nervous that I’d get queasy (as I often do), but it must have been designed for the motion-sick. I only had to shut my eyes once!

    Then we headed to…uh…somewhere else… And we saw ducks! Real Disney ducks!

     I am not at all sure of the order of the day, but here are a few things we saw:

    The World of Energy!

    I remembered this ride used to smell a lot like peat moss. I was sad it did not anymore.  Now it just smells like Ellen Degeneres and Bill Nye.

     

    The Sea!

          

    These guys were in a display outside The Sea. This guy was inside. 

     

    I was almost inside him. Hee hee.

     

    I sort of forget what we saw in this area except big aquariums and there must have been something we got in little cars and rode around in, but darned if I can remember what it was. Let’s just assume it was fish-related. Here we are sitting outside The Seas. The mosaic tile makes me think of showers which makes me think of water which makes me think of the sea. Wonder if they did that on porpoise?

     

    The Mine, Mine, Mine Seagulls are a favorite of mine, mine, mine.  I wish I could have gotten them on a tote bag. Oh, the sales Disney is missing out on…

     

    We saw Spaceship Earth and went inside it. It was a nice break for Mom, as being Atlas was a tiring job. 

     

    She also got me a Diet Coke and a soft pretzel. Always a good thing to give me fluids, especially in the form of Diet Coke. Keeps me happy!

     

    We found a hat stand and had a great time trying on various hats. The guy who worked there even volunteered to take our pictures. He didn’t even care if we bought a hat.

                

    The one of Mom in the Mad Hatter hat and the two of us as chipmunks are two of my favorite pictures from the whole trip.

     

    We also made a stop in one of Mom’s favorite Disney Stores.

    I can’t remember the name of the artist, but he sculpts lovely Disney scenes. Mom said over and over, “I am so glad I never started collecting (insert that guys’ name). I would just never stop!” And look how nice the things are! Can you blame her for wanting all ten zillion of his sculptures?

     

    Soon enough, it was time to go back to our room to get ready for our night.

    What will the evening bring? Keep reading to find out!

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *