Month: October 2010

  • Truly Penn’s Sylvania

     

    I live near one of the many state game lands in Pennsylvania. There is one trail in particular I have come to love, a 40 minute walk in the woods. Want to walk with me on a glorious fall day in October?

     

    The sky is a brilliant blue, and the leaves, although not as colorful due to dry conditions, are a stark contrast.

     

     

    The path seems like a gateway to adventure.

     

    As I walk, my feet scuff through the leaves on the ground. What they lack in color, they more than make up for in shape.  

     

    There aren’t many flowers on my walk, but those that are there are especially admired. Here’s some Lady’s Thumb. If you look at the leaf, there will be a darker green spot, almost as if a lady’s thumb had made a mark there.

     

     

    When I walk, I can imagine myself thrown back into time. Indians roamed the Pennsylvania woods. Revolutionary War soldiers, settlers, trappers, explorers–they all wandered here. 

     

    And sometimes, I’m not in Pennsylvania at all. It might be Little Red Riding Hood’s woods or one of the many forests that travelers in search of quests traversed. Who will I be today?  And like my fairy tale counterparts, I always want to be kind in case it turns out to be helpful later. I never seem to meet any old women or hungry people, so I just toss half-sprouted acorns from the path into the woods so they might have a chance to grow.

     

     

     

    And although I have yet to be rewarded with a dress the color of moonbeams or a wishing bag, sights like these are certainly a reward!

     

     

    Sometimes I’m amazed that these can be leaves. Are the flowers even this brilliant?

     

     

    All too soon, my daydreams are halted. I see the end of my trail–the red fencepost that I always touch to mark the halfway point of my journey. Then, I turn around.

     

     

     

    Walking back, I notice a pond I’ve never seen before. How could I have missed this on all my jaunts?

     

     

    The berries are so bright and cheerful, even if they are poisonous!

     

     

    I hate to end my walk, but two phone calls from lonely Little Miss have me heading home. Good bye until next time!